Reality Check

I was forced to go to the Doctor’s today.  This is something I try to avoid as much as possible.  Unfortunately, I stepped on something over the weekend while working on our community garden last Saturday.  Today I woke up with a stiff neck, so through my wife’s prying, I booked an appointment with the doctor to get the shot (it has been over 10 years since I was last stabbed for tetanus).

This was my first visit to her, so she went through all the preliminary checkup requirements.  Turns out my blood pressure is high.  The way to fix that?  Lose weight.  I’ve been married for 7 years now, and while my wife has maintained a fitness model’s figure, I have gained 40 or so pounds.  To begin with, I am a stocky/muscular person by nature, so I’ll never be a skinny dude.  But, when we first got married, I had a very low body fat percentage, with a six pack of abs.

Obesity and heart disease runs in my family.  Sure, some can be blamed on genetics, but I doubt it is coincidence that as my lifestyle became more sedentary, I also gained some weight.

A few years ago, I topped out at 60 lbs over my healthy weight range.  I began bicycling a lot and lost about 30 of those lbs, of which 10 or so have come back (as my bike now collects dust).

Basically, I have a long fight ahead of me, but if I want to do what I can to avoid heart complications, and other issues, I need to get back into shape.  Bad habits are hard to break.

4 Responses to “Reality Check”

  1. eric Says:

    Been there done that. if you’re not 40 yet, that seems to be the line in the sand where everything goes south.

    I visited the Dr 17 times that year. Some for physical therapy, but why the heck was I going to PT for in the first place…

    that’s right…I’m lazy.

    Good luck on the ride. Frankly I’ve been hiking, but without really changing my eating habits I’m still the same weight.

  2. metaljaybird Says:

    Yeah, still in my 20s (i can hang onto that phrase for about 10 months).

    At least you aren’t GAINING. That is something.

  3. lori Says:

    Aww you’re so sweet =) But I’m not sure I would qualify as a fitness model right now…

  4. metaljaybird Says:

    Yeah, 6 months pregnant and all.

Leave a Reply

