Anger Management

I have an anger issue.  I can be a hot head.  My Irish blood can boil like a bowl of potato soup.

Anyway, I’ll get to the point.  Yesterday, after a long work day that included about 60 miles of extra driving I met my wife and kid at the park.  She had walked there earlier so I went home, changed into shorts and hopped on my MTB.  The ride is less then a 1/4 of a mile, so it’s an easy one.

We had a good time and then had some BK for dinner.  I really need to lay off of the fast food.  Seriously.

Well, on the way home, wife is pushing the kid in her stroller, I’m riding next to them.  I decide to go ahead a little bit and wait on the side of the road in front of the lake trail.  Some idiot blew the stop sign and ran my wife and kid off the road almost hitting them.  My wife was very shaken, and asked if I’d seen it.  Yes.  I saw it clearly.

I pulled around on my bike and sped for the jerk.  He was stuck in traffic as I came up yelling at him.  “Hey, you almost ran over my daughter!”

“No, I didn’t, your wife was in the middle of the road”.

“If you think the middle of the road is on the neighbor’s lawn, then I’ll concede that fact”.

“I was going slow!”

“Sure you were, this is why my wife had to jump out of your way pulling the stroller with her.”

“But I couldn’t see her.”

“Yes, because you were hugging the corner on a residential street.”

Then came some name calling and four letter words.  Yes, I have a tongue of silver.  Heh.  I finished by telling him to “Get outta here”.

I admit, I should have acted gracefully.  I probably should have left well enough alone.  But when I feel someone has threatened the safety of my family, I have a duty to protect them.  So, there is a gray line here.  Maybe this fellow will think twice the next time he drives through my neighborhood.  Maybe he’ll drive like a normal human being and yield to pregnant ladies pushing toddlers in their strollers.

My one regret is that he had his son in the passenger side witnessing two grown men acting like apes.

5 Responses to “Anger Management”

  1. Dan Says:

    I probably would’ve done the same thing. That’s one good thing about living in rural Wisconsin; the pace of life is quite a bit slower than in my native Massachusetts. And the drivers are much more civilized here as well.

    Dan

  2. metaljaybird Says:

    Hey Dan…what made you chose to live in Wisconsin? I think the freeze would drive my up the wall.

  3. Dan Says:

    I’m here because of my job. I’m a pastor of 2 smaller Lutheran churches. Not many Lutherans in N.E. and the ones who are there are essentially Catholic or paganized liberals. Actually, I like the snowy and colder winters. It’s comforting to know that man isn’t in control of everything- and this past winter was a record breaking one in terms of snowfall totals. We had 81 inches; the southern part of the state had over a 100. The last 3 years I’ve noticed a significant increase in the occurrence of blizzards in our area. This goes along with the solar scientist’s observations re: very little sun spot activity, leading to colder and snowier weather. Happy to see the global warming people squirm.

  4. metaljaybird Says:

    Right! Haha, the global warming argument tends to weaken when record snowfall occurs.

    I’ve wanted to check out Madison for sometime, though you must be a long way from there.

    Are you familiar with Calvary Chapels? I attend a small one in Dover, NJ. I was baptized a Catholic, raised a baptist, spent much of my youth a Charismatic, and have found my way somewhere in the middle attending Calvary Chapels.

  5. Dan Says:

    I’m not familiar with the Calvary Chapels; I’ll have to look them up. Madison is interesting; I heard someone describe it “as an island of liberalism in an ocean of reality.” Its an ungodly liberal area with lots of granola/birkenstock people- some of whom protested global warming last winter in the midst of a blizzard. But Madison seems to be a growing area; I’m not sure how the current economic troubles are playing out down there. Also a tough city to get around in which is unusual in the midwest.

Leave a Reply

