I Did It

Well, after all these years of talking myself out of it, I slipped once early this morning and talked myself into riding my bicycle to work.

I packed a change of clothes, a couple wash cloths, and my study books into my backpack. Away I went! I actually saw a few bike commuters on the way. One was a lady turning southbound onto 53 from the Denville Train Station, another was cruising northbound on 53 towards Morristown. I guess riding a bike to work isn’t as odd as I once thought.

This being my first time and all, I actually arrived way too early. My normal 15 – 20 minute drive into work took just over 30 minutes. I was at work at 7:20 this morning. My normal start time is 8:30. Well, I changed into my work clothes, had some water, powered up the slow one (T42 running Vista Business…bad combo) and cooled off for a few minutes. I then walked over to DD’s for a large iced coffee with the special .99 egg and cheese on a biscuit.

This is the first of many, I hope. Maybe this will turn into a lifestyle.

Check out one of my daily reads. Noah is a KC bike commuter. Not sure how I stumbled on his blog, but I’ve been reading it for about a year. Great photos, and this dude inspired me to get off my fat butt, and got onto the saddle.

2 Responses to “I Did It”

  1. Dan Says:

    Glad to hear about your bike commuting. I’ve been doing alot more of that this spring, especially when visiting people. I hate the ungodly hills around here [going up them, and there is always wind resistance which drives me crazy] but I do like getting in better shape and the way it slows time down; plus saving significant $. In a congested area, such as yours, the time difference betw. biking and driving is not that bad. Save the car for the rainy days. Keep up the good work.

  2. metaljaybird Says:

    Thanks, Dan. I noticed more things on the way to work then I do when cruising by, or laying on the horn.

Leave a Reply

