A Confession

This may come as a surprise to those who don’t know me, but I have a deep dark secret that stems from my youth.  This embarrassing fact about myself could be used to blackmail me if I were ever to become a politician, so I have to bring the truth out in the open right now, right here.

I will understand if you no longer want to associate yourself with me after learning this.  If I could, I would do the same myself.  Alas, I am stuck with this terrible truth about my childhood.  Please, if you must laugh, wait until I leave the room.

You see, this horrible skeleton in my closet will shock most.  If you are reading this outloud near children, I would recommend covering their ears, or have them leave the room.  For those with weak stomachs, just stop now.  If you must continue reading, you have all been forewarned.

Well.  The truth is.  I was a high school marching band geek who played second trumpet.

Tags:

2 Responses to “A Confession”

  1. eric Says:

    I was the Band V.P. and President my Jr. and Sr. year. I started dating my now wife at that time. I played flute and sax…

    what’s more embarrassing?

  2. metaljaybird Says:

    Hmm…the flute is a major weigh down in terms of geekery, but the sax scales you back up in normal grounds.

    Band was a great time, and if I were more determined, I would have easily made 1st trumpet. I quit after my junior year. My highlight was marching the NY St. Patrick’s Day Parade 3 years in a row.

    The Fermi Falcons won a few national championships for the field show competitions.

Leave a Reply

